Skip to content

One fish, two fish

July 29, 2010

This contradicts a lot of what I believe in. Pets.

What’s the point? We cage them up for our pleasure?

But I have some friends moving away. They asked what to do with their goldfish. I suggested flushing them down the toilet or eating them for breakfast. (not too nice).

But the kids have been after me since they were born for pets. However, I am very allergic to cats, can’t be in the same room as them, touch them and I break out in hives. I also don’t want to deal with the mess, extra work and anxiety that they would bring.

So I acquiesced, only because the fish and supporting equipment was free, and I was helping a friend, and the kids wanted them so much.

But bad timing it is, we are leaving on vacation this weekend for 2-3 weeks. This is another reason I don’t want pets, you have to look after them even when you are gone.

More reasons to dislike:

Environment: the filter and light engery, and chemicals involved, all contradict our green living philosophy

Aesthetics: these are gold fish with pink and blue rocks and algae green accessories (picture by Coco), not the most soothing thing to look at.

What we do for these kids.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

