Skip to content

Blueberries or grapes?

August 4, 2010
tags:

Where we live the locals are nicknamed ‘Bleuets’ (Blueberries) by the rest of the Province . Wild blueberries grow all over.  August is the season. Those that want some extra income go gathering and picking. Little shacks dot remote places where pickers spend the month of August.

We just go in the small woods in our backyard, and can gather quite a bit of berries. Which we did the other day. I also bought some blueberries in the supermarket, for comparison, although I did a double take, the kids did think they were grapes. I put both in a bowl: the berries we picked are on the right. supermarket steroid-berries bought in the supermarket are on the left. Mind you, we have been told that the wild berries are on the small side this year, but just the same.

How far have things gone from the real thing? I don’t think I have to mention the difference in taste and nutrition between the two berries.

Posted as part of Real Food Wednesday at KellyTheKitchenKop

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 4:27 pm

    I’ve always preferred the smaller blueberries. I much prefer their tart sweetness over the blandness of big blueberries. Sadly, our local farmer’s market only had home grown for about 2 weeks, though they were delicious! I did find some nice Florida blueberries that are also excellent, though. If I can still get them this week, I’m going to buy extra to freeze and ferment!

    • August 11, 2010 12:12 pm

      I also discovered freezing on a cookie sheet, then transferring into bags and containers. Then the berries aren’t all clumped and you can take out smaller measurements at a time as needed.

  2. August 7, 2010 10:50 am

    How wonderful that you can pick wild blueberries in your backyard woods! I’ll bet the flavor is incredible!

    Would love it if you would consider sharing this blog or another post at Monday Mania. Hope to see you there!

    • August 11, 2010 12:09 pm

      Thanks for your encouragement. I missed this week, but I will participate in your Mania soon.

Leave a Reply

