Skip to content

Hiding the grocery bills

August 11, 2010

I try hard to provide my family with real food. I feel the two most important expenses we have for our family are food and education. The rest is not all that important (oh maybe shelter, heat, and warm clothing too, but in these days those are a bit of a given).

But eating real food is more expensive. I know, I read blogs that claim it isn’t with all sorts of complicated crop sharing schemes. And arguments about medical expenses are not as relevant for us in Canada with free health care. I think more it is a question of health and wellness and this is more important than money. But the argument doesn’t always work with others, other close ones, including one’s husband (mine).

We all grew up learning to try and save money, that saving money was a good thing. But at what expense.

So my solution now is just to hide the grocery bill from my husband. I buy the food, the real food, and from the farmer there is often no bill anyway. I just don’t say how much all costs. I find no argument about the taste and quality of the food I am providing from the family. They just don’t know how much all costs. They figure it is lower since I have bought it directly from the farmer. But it usually isn’t so.

For a while we did the CSA, but I was getting much too much complaints about not being able to chose what we vegetables we were getting and the price. I got tired of always having to defend it. So I switched to the framers markets, and other contacts.

For those of you with supportive family, I am jealous, but for the rest of us, we have to do what we have to to provide nourishment and work around be discrete about the parts that our loved ones can’t handle.

posted as part of kellythekitchenkop’s Real Food Wednesdays

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 9:16 am

    For me spending money for high-quality food is really important too. I’m lucky in that my husband pays no attention to what things cost and really wants high quality food (and tasty food) in the house.

    I think you’re right about education & food being among the most important expenditures.

    I wish food was priced so that you had to pay more for junk – I do support moves by government to “fat tax” type schemes to make people pay more for Coke & chips and other non-nutritive stuff.

    You left a comment on my guess post at Jimmy Moore’s website – I totally agree about the UHT milk (and it’s what I buy too) – it’s so convenient to have milk in the cupboard & not worry about it running out, plus our fridges are indeed considerably smaller. Raw milk per se is not often a feature in our house, but a lot of the raw dairy products (cheese, cream & butter) are. And if my husband does the shopping, he buys raw milk…

  2. April 21, 2014 7:32 pm

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how
    fast your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, very good blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Other People’s Gardens « Modern Family contradictoire
  2. Finally Sourdough; and no mess! « Modern Family contradictoire

Leave a Reply

