Skip to content

German Cucumber Salad

August 30, 2010

I always hated cucumber salad, because I never really liked cucumbers. But in Germany I discovered that I like their salads. In Germany ‘salad’ never means lettuce, always some other vegetable: often cucumbers, but maybe carrots or potatoes or something else. And they make their cucumber salads very differently than we do here. They soak their cucumber in brine to make them soft rather than crunchy, I saw this in the Joy of Cooking, where it is referred to as ‘wilted’ cucumber salad. Somehow, it doesn’t sound too appetizing like that. Once in Germany as my aunt served her famous salad, I asked her what she does for dressing and she gave me packet in the picture. A bit disappointing. But easily copied. Now she sends me a few packets any time a family member visits Germany, since you can’t by the stuff in Canada, and I have a growing collection in my pantry, too shy to let her know I don’t need them anymore.

But the recipe:

Cucumber sliced thinly (I have quite a few over sized ones from other peoples gardens) with lots of salt between layers and on top. Soak for a few hours, until cumbers no longer crunch, then rinse and rinse and rinse to get rid of the salty taste, and

Dressing:

Olive oil and apple cider vinegar in a 3:1 ratio
A little bit of honey
Fresh or dried dill
Sea Salt

Toss and let dressing soak in for as long as possible. It even tastes better sometimes the next day.

Linked to the Healthy Home Economist’s Monday Mania

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 12:28 pm

    I have an organic cuke in the fridge. I just LOVE cucumbers and am going to try this today for lunch! Thanks for a great idea and for sharing at Monday Mania!

  2. August 31, 2010 12:34 am

    THANK YOU!!! (If you saw the piles — NO exaggeration — of cucumbers on my counter from our garden, you would understand the relief in my voice while thanking you for giving me another idea of what in the world to do with all of these cucumbers!!!!)

    ps…stopping in from Monday Mania! 🙂

Leave a Reply

