Skip to content

It ain’t easy

September 8, 2010

Been meaning to come up with some kitchen goals for September, as inspired by Kelly the Kitchen Kop‘s. I would love to have some great goals: start raw milk and grass fed meat, start making my own preserves…But I know none of them is going to happen. I am still working on finding an raw milk source, but I have been for 2 years now, not easy in Canada where it is still very illegal. The meat thing is hard to since we live so far north, there are no sources within hundreds of miles. Then for preserving, I just don’t have the time right now.

So, for realistic goals:

  • No more nitrate containing cold cuts. This pretty much rules out any cold cuts available to me here. But I did find a prosciutto without (which of coarse is very pricey).
  • More baking to get the kids (mostly) off of store bought cookies and bars.
  • Maybe trying a sourdough cake (my sourdough pancakes are a success with the family,  but not the bread, maybe this would be a good transition)

This should be doable, so I think I will leave it at that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

