Skip to content

coffee, coffee, coffee

January 26, 2011

First it was black coffee with sugar, got me through University.

Then it was no sugar but milk. No to the sugar for fear of cavities (but tons of sugar elsewhere of course). And milk because otherwise it is hard on the stomach.

Then there were lattes and cappuccinos and espressos. Then there was Italy, where cappuccino is only for breakfast and what we would call espresso, or for the Italians just coffee, for any other time of the day. God forbid you would do anything else. And when they give you a glass of water with the coffee-espresso, it is for before, to rinse the pallet and taste the coffee, not for afterwards as I was quickly scorned.

Then on to low-carb, now we have to have coffee with unsweetened soy milk.

Then to real food: so cream, lovely.

But always, well not always, but at least recently, nagging questions about health. And contradictions, oh the contradictions. Not with me this time, but with the studies. Is it good for you, or is it bad for you? Sometime last year, I went decaf for a month to see if there were any effects. No effects, or well, no weight loss effects, that was what I was looking for at the time.

But now I am committed, I am doing it again. Because the one thing I do know is that I have problems with mood swings and ups and downs. And the caffeine is a stimulant, as with sugar, there, there are no contradicting studies (I always had a cup before a tennis match, to give a boost to my serve). And I know if I want to level off this may be a good place to start. Sugar is harder.

So I did it. Christmas proved to be the ideal time: off work, no early morning boring meetings, no need to be really alert at family gatherings. It wasn’t so hard, nor was back to work. I bring a small thermos of decaf.

Has it worked for my moods? So far so good, but way too early to say and I am sure caffeine alone won’t solve that one. But I am optimistic as always.

photo source

Leave a Reply

