Skip to content

Finally Sourdough; and no mess!

February 8, 2011

I have been working on sourdough for a while now with only minor success. But in the meantime I even had to add a degree of difficulty. My husband has never been a fan of any of my food journeys, I guess they have been trying his patience. And now he has decided to take on the house cleaning task, after constantly criticizing any cleaner we ever had. But this is not necessarily a good thing, it puts him in a bad mood often complaining about messes. So now I have to make bread without making a mess. Quite the challenge.

But I did it.

The recipe comes from here, but with many changes in technique.

Start with the sourdough starter: 1/3 cup.

Mixed with 400 g of warm water and 44 g of molasses.

Then you need good flour. I get mine from a local mill.

Rye flour: 245 g

White bread flour: 245 g

Salt: 12 g

All this is done on a kitchen scale, hence the measurements in weight. And what a delight, again it minimizes the mess.

All of this is then mixed in an electric mixer using dough hooks. At first I didn’t want to do this, thinking the metal will kill my starter, but it doesn’t, and it sure makes for an easier time. You have to mix it up well first, then let it rest covered with plastic and mix it again after about 15 min and then again another 15 min wait and mix. But with the mixer this is no big deal.

Then I leave it out overnight, again in the plastic cover, still in the same mixing bowl (not alot of dishes).

Then in the morning I pour it into a parchment paper lined bread pan. Not easy, I get one of the kids to hold the bowl, or the paper or something. Again it is covered in a plastic bag and allowed to rise during the day.

In the evening, when I come home from work, I bake it until the internal temperature is over 200F. The thermometer is a great gadget that I can no longer live without: for a scientist like myself, this is what I call real data.

The beauty of the parchment paper: no mess, just peel it away, and I don’t even need to wash the bread pan.

The next morning the bread is ready for breakfast. Maybe not a typical shaped loaf, but the taste and texture are great.

This is posted as part of the Hearth and Soul Hop.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 5:48 pm

    Well, I certainly hope he appreciated that beautiful loaf of sourdough bread, and the lack of mess too. I will have to try that parchment paper method on my bread.

    • February 9, 2011 5:38 pm

      Actually, he only eats store bought white bread. Not much support for real food in my house, that is why I feel the need to blog about it.

  2. February 8, 2011 8:26 pm

    Oh wow, so nice! My very first starter is in the works right now…and I hope to have the wherewithal to pass it down to the next generation one day! Your bread sounds delicious, thank you for sharing it w/ the hearth and soul hop this week šŸ™‚

  3. February 8, 2011 9:45 pm

    Hi! I came over from Hearth & Soul Hop. I love parchment paper! Have you seen the liners that go in different shaped pans to keep them from sticking? I keep meaning to order some.

    • February 9, 2011 9:19 am

      No, I didn’t know about the liners, and it is a real problem getting to dough into my origami fold out paper that doesn’t stay in place. Thanks for the tip.

  4. February 16, 2011 2:59 pm

    Hi Arlene! Oh the joys and devastations of sourdough bread! Seriously, I have tried so many different recipes and some with great success and others were just flops. So important when you do FIND a recipe that works to keep using it! I once made the entire recipe forgetting to put in salt and it over flowed all over the place! Glad you made it work this time and the parchment paper idea is a great one! Thanks for sharing this on the hearth and soul hop! All the best! Alex

Leave a comment